Renegade Series Featured in LA Weekly

Renegade Series Featured in LA Weekly

Last Friday, I was honored with a writeup in the LA Weekly about my books in the Renegade Series. These books include A Beautiful Glittering LieA Beckoning HellfireA Rebel Among Us, and Double-Edged Sword. Thank you so much, LA Weekly, for featuring my books in your publication!

The Renegade Series: A Family’s Tale of Courage and Survival Amidst the Civil War


Within the tumultuous pages of history, the American Civil War stands as a defining chapter, resonating with tales of bravery, sacrifice, and resilience. Amidst the chaos and devastation, one remarkable literary series emerges, offering readers a poignant glimpse into the lives of the Summers family from north Alabama. J.D.R. Hawkins’ Renegade Series transports us to a bygone era, where the boundaries of courage and survival are tested in the crucible of war. Embark on a captivating journey through the pages of this remarkable saga, where love and determination intertwine amidst the ravages of the Civil War.

The Unforgettable Characters

At the heart of the Renegade Series lies a cast of unforgettable characters, each grappling with the harsh realities of a world torn asunder. In the first installment, “A Beautiful Glittering Lie,” readers are introduced to Hiram Summers, a farmer and father of three, who makes the fateful decision to enlist in the Fourth Alabama Infantry Regiment. As Hiram departs for Virginia, his son David, filled with youthful curiosity, seeks adventure at home in Huntsville, Alabama, alongside his best friend, Jake Kimball. Meanwhile, Caroline, Hiram’s wife and David’s mother, holds their family together on the home front, finding solace in the letters she receives from her husband. Through their interconnected experiences, J.D.R. Hawkins paints a vivid picture of a family divided by the Civil War, each member facing trials and sacrifices.

The Struggles and Triumphs

“A Beautiful Glittering Lie” delves deep into the naivety of a young nation as the brutal realities of war test it. Hiram and David Summers, separated by duty, embark on separate paths that will forever alter their lives. Hiram, thrust into the chaos of combat, discovers the cost of defending his home and the required sacrifices. Meanwhile, David, driven by a longing for adventure, confronts the invading Yankees in Huntsville, unaware of the dangers ahead. Caroline is the backbone of the Summers family, who demonstrates unwavering strength and resilience as she keeps their home and farm intact, her world revolving around the cherished letters from her husband. Through the struggles and triumphs of the Summers family, the Renegade Series immerses readers in the profound challenges ordinary individuals face in the vortex of war.

The Latest Chapter: “Double-Edged Sword

In the gripping fourth installment of the Renegade Series, “Double-Edged Sword,” J.D.R. Hawkins continues the captivating narrative, diving deep into the post-Civil War era. Confederate cavalryman David Summers, accompanied by his new wife, Anna, returns to Alabama, only to find a land scarred by the ravages of war and a society struggling to heal its wounds. As David navigates the challenges of transitioning from soldier to civilian, he soon discovers that the battles of the past still haunt him. In this highly anticipated chapter, Hawkins explores the complexities of redemption, justice, and the enduring consequences of war. David’s path crosses with his old adversary, Stephen Montgomery, and their deep-rooted animosity ignites a powder keg of emotions. As their conflict escalates, David faces arrest and a trial that holds his future in the balance. The question looms: Will the jury believe his side of the story, or will his Confederate past overshadow any chance of justice?

Impact and Enduring Legacy

The John Esten Cooke Fiction Award-winning Renegade Series goes beyond mere entertainment; it offers a unique perspective on the Civil War, shedding light on the untold stories of ordinary individuals thrust into extraordinary circumstances. By highlighting the struggles and triumphs of the Summers family, J.D.R. Hawkins reminds us of the human cost of war, urging us to reflect on the consequences of our actions and the lessons history has to teach. Through meticulous research and immersive storytelling, Hawkins presents a narrative that captures the imagination and fosters empathy. The Renegade Series stands as a testament to the power of literature to bridge the gap between past and present and to uncover the untold tales that shape our collective understanding of history.


As readers turn the pages of the Renegade Series, they embark on an emotional journey through the lives of the Summers family, witnessing their unwavering courage and tenacity in the face of unimaginable adversity. J.D.R. Hawkins’ captivating storytelling invites us to reflect on the enduring impact of the Civil War and the unconquerable spirit of those who lived through it. Immerse yourself in the Renegade Series and experience the triumphs and tragedies of a family’s struggle for survival amidst one of America’s darkest chapters. Let J.D.R. Hawkins’ words transport you to a world where love and determination conquer the ravages of war, reminding us that the human spirit is capable of astonishing resilience even in the face of overwhelming odds. J. D. R. Hawkins: books, biography, latest update

The Renegade Series: A Family’s Tale of Courage and Survival Amidst the Civil War – LA Weekly

Back to blog